How to stop Mac applications from resuming after closing them

blackdog

When I close some applications in OS X, like my browser, when I restart it will revert to the state it was in when I quit the application instead of starting back "blank". How can I make applications quit and not resume their prior state?

Answer this Question

Answers

2 total
jhotz
Vote Up (15)

Quit the program using the drop down menu. Hold down the alt key and it will give you the option to "Quit and Close all Windows." Chose that, and it should close the program and start it fresh the next time you open it.

jimlynch
Vote Up (10)

See this article:

Disable Mac OS X Lion Resume & App Window Restore Completely
http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/18/disable-mac-os-x-lion-resume-window-restore/

"If manually deleting specific apps saved Resume states is too tedious for you, you can always choose to just disable the Resume and App Restore feature completely in Mac OS X 10.7.

Launch System Preferences and click on the “General” icon
At the bottom of the “Number of recent items” list, uncheck the checkbox next to “Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps”
This is a sweeping change that impacts all applications and the Finder itself, meaning all apps will no longer save their previous state, including when you reboot your Mac.

Considering that Resumes is genuinely useful, plus it’s one of the snazzier new features that is heavily boasted about in OS X Lion, this should not be considered a recommended adjustment for everyone."

Ask a question

Join Now or Sign In to ask a question.
Officials today from the China government appeared at four Microsoft offices, but the purpose of the visits was unclear.
Percentage of former and current workers who approve of CEO drops by 24%, those who disapprove quadruples, after big layoffs hit.
Look to Vista for how Redmond will treat Windows 8 as it moves on to the next bright, shiny OS.
As with previous versions of OS X, it's not difficult to create a bootable installer drive from the Yosemite beta installer, though the processes have changed slightly since Mavericks.
If you've leapt aboard the beta without thinking carefully about what this would mean for day-to-day use, and you now wish you had Mavericks (OS X 10.9) back, we're here to help.
A new model of the Raspberry Pi is out, but it's not Raspberry Pi 2
Microsoft seems on the brink of announcing a major enhancement to its operating system lines, namely merging them into a single OS that could bring big benefits for corporate users.
Apple has "inadvertently admitted" to creating a "backdoor" in iOS, according to a post by a forensics scientist, iOS author and ex-hacker.
Financial results are oh-so boring, but Microsoft's latest quarterly results hid a surprising number of juicy tidbits
Given that this marks the first time a major new version of OS X has been available to users before it's actually released (not counting the original Mac OS X Public Beta), you likely have questions. We've got answers.