Deactivate Facebook account so your boss won't see it

How to turn off your Facebook account immediately before an employer finds it


Here's how you can deactivate your Facebook account immediately so your boss doesn't see it. This is also helpful if you're doing a job search, and don't want prospective employers to find your Facebook profile.

1. Click the account menu (arrow) at the top right of the Facebook interface.

2. Go to Account Settings.

3. Select the Security option in the left side of the menu.

4. Click on Deactivate Your Account.

Your Facebook timeline and the rest of your information disappears from Facebook right away. You will not appear in searches, and people on Facebook won't be able to view your information.

To turn your account back on, just log in again and your account will be restored.

Free Course: JavaScript: The Good Parts
View Comments
You Might Like
Join the discussion
Be the first to comment on this article. Our Commenting Policies