Turn off automatic restore in two Mac OS X Lion apps

How to turn off Lion's restore feature in Preview and QuickTime Player X


One of the neatest things about Mac OS X Lion is its ability to restore the windows you had opened when you ended a computing session. However, there are those who might find this feature to be intrusive and annoying in certain applications such as Preview or QuickTime Player X.

No problem, here's how you can turn it off in Preview and QuickTime Player X.

1. Open a terminal window.

2. Type in the following commands:

defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Make sure the apps are closed before you type in these commands. Switch "false" to "true if you want to turn on the restore feature for these two applications.

Four Lion Terminal hacks | Macworld

This article is published as part of the IDG Contributor Network. Want to Join?

Free Course: JavaScript: The Good Parts
View Comments
You Might Like
Join the discussion
Be the first to comment on this article. Our Commenting Policies