Quitting and restarting Dropbox

'Quit Dropbox' doesn't mean what you might think

This content is excerpted from "Dropbox In 30 Minutes" by Ian Lamont, part of the In 30 Minutes™ family of technology guides.

Dropbox In 30 Minutesdropboxin30minutes.com

You may have noticed a menu item for the Dropbox App called "Quit Dropbox". Quitting Dropbox is not like quitting other applications.

When you "quit" Dropbox, you will still be able to access the Dropbox folders on your hard drive. This means you can open files, and save new files to the Dropbox folders. However, syncing will no longer take place -- if you create a new file and save it to a Dropbox folder on your computer's hard drive, it won't be synced to your master account on Dropbox's servers. Conversely, the Dropbox folder on your computer won't register changes made to the master account, including new files or updates made via the Dropbox app on your mobile device or shared folders.

To restart Dropbox, find the application on your computer and double-click it. You may need to log back in, using your existing Dropbox credentials (email address and password).

This question and answer are part of the Rogue FAQ for Dropbox, available in Dropbox In 30 Minutes.

Ian Lamont is an award-winning journalist who launched the In 30 Minutes™ book series after graduating from MIT Sloan. Follow him on twitter at @ilamont.

Top 10 Hot Internet of Things Startups
Join the discussion
Be the first to comment on this article. Our Commenting Policies