How to protect your privacy in Windows 10's Edge browser

edge privacy
Credit: Microsoft

If you're worried about Windows 10's Edge browser and privacy, here's what you need to know and what to do for maximum privacy.

First, get to the screen that controls Edge's privacy settings. To do it, click the three buttons in the upper right of Edge, scroll to the bottom of the screen that appears and select Settings-->View advanced settings. Scroll down to the Privacy and services section. You'll find plenty of privacy settings. Click "Learn More" if you want to find out what Microsoft says about Edge and privacy. Then get down to work.

If you are worried someone might steal passwords saved by Edge, first turn off "Offer to save passwords." Then click "Manage my saved passwords." You'll see a list of those  that have been saved. Click the X next to any you want to delete.

Just beneath that, turn off "Save form entries" if you're worried someone else will use Edge and get information you've typed into forms.

In the Cookies section, make sure that "Block all cookies" is chosen for maximum protection. But if you run into problems with some Web sites because of that, you can instead choose "Block only third party cookies." Next turn on "Send Do Not Track requests," to try and stop you being tracked online. At this point, it's not clear how useful this is because there's no real standard for handling Do Not Track requests, but it can't hurt to choose it.

Cortana is a great digital assistant that's far superior to Siri. But to do her work, she needs to track things you do. If you don't think the potential privacy invasions are worth Cortana's benefits, turn off "Have Cortana assist me in Microsoft Edge."

You may want to turn off several other settings, although if you do, you'll turn off some useful Edge features. And not everyone agrees they invade your privacy. However, if you're worried, turn them off. Switch off "Show search suggestions as I type." That will make sure that the information you type into the address bar isn't sent to Microsoft. You can also turn off "Use page prediction to speed up browsing, improve reading, and make my overall experience better." That will lead to slower-loading pages, but again, information won't be sent to Microsoft.

Finally, if you're worried that someone may snoop on your browsing history and cache head back to the main Settings page and under "Clear browsing data" click "Choose what to clear." On the screen that appears you can choose what types of data you want to clear out, including your history, cookies and saved data, cached data and files, download history, and more. After you do that, click Clear to delete the data you've chosen to clear.

ITWorld DealPost: The best in tech deals and discounts.
Shop Tech Products at Amazon