5 LinkedIn Privacy Settings You Need to Know

By Kristin Burnham, CIO |  Internet, LinkedIn, privacy

Many regard LinkedIn as the "safe" social network--there are no games that jeopardize your privacy, you aren't posting incriminating photos of last weekend's Halloween party and you're not TKTKTKTK. But that's no reason to ignore the privacy and account settings that LinkedIn has in place.

You can find your list of settings by clicking on your name on the top right of the screen and choosing Settings. This list includes profile settings, e-mail notifications, home page settings, personal information, privacy settings and more.

How much of your profile have you made public? Are all of your tweets being pushed to LinkedIn? Can others see that you've viewed their profile? If you're unsure of these answers, take a look at the following five privacy settings and adjust them appropriately.

1. Public Profile

When your LinkedIn profile appears in public searches, how much of it can people see without logging in to LinkedIn themselves? That's what the Public Profile settings tell you. By default, visitors have access to your entire profile--your picture, summary, current positions, education, website, groups and more.

If your intent is transparency, the full view is recommended. However if you're not looking to disclose all of your information, go to the Profiles Settings section and update by unchecking the profile features that you don't want displayed publicly. You can find this setting under the Profile Settings section.

[Want more LinkedIn tips, tricks and analysis? Check out CIO.com's LinkedIn Bible.]

The Public Profile settings section also has a feature similar to Facebook's where you can make changes and view your public profile as others will see it.

Another feature on this settings page: customized buttons. If you're looking to add a button to your blog or website to promote your LinkedIn profile, this page will give you the code for several different ones.

2. Member Feed Visibility

Your personal feed on LinkedIn displays Network Updates from actions you've performed on LinkedIn. These might include an announcement when you update your work experience, join a group, add a new connection or post a recommendation to someone's profile.

You can find this setting under Profile Settings. Member Feed Visibility gives you four settings to choose from. Your LinkedIn actions can be visible to everyone, only those people in your network, only your direct connections or nobody (which means your member feed won't be displayed). If you prefer that your LinkedIn actions are private, choose one of the latter two settings.

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Answers - Powered by ITworld

ITworld Answers helps you solve problems and share expertise. Ask a question or take a crack at answering the new questions below.

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Ask a Question