8 reasons to gear up for HTML5 now

By Richard Hein, CIO |  Internet, HTML5

Currently certain portions of your site remain unavailable to people with disabilities, including the blind and those people unable to use a mouse. HTML5 tackles this problem by defining functionality to be used with current assistive technology.

W3C's WAI-ARIA provides a framework for adding attribute identifiers or roles to the different elements of your HTML code. Some of these roles will be built-in, and Web authors will not be able to override them. These identifiers mark common regions on the page-such as Title, Header, Footer and Nav-andprovide a more effective way to present your information to a wider audience than their predecessor, the tag.

Let's take a closer look at what this technical spec brings to the table:

  • Role types for widgets, including TreeItem, Menu Slider and ProgressMaster.
  • Properties that define a widget's state.
  • Properties that define the more active regions of a Web page.
  • Drag-and-drop functionality properties that also describe targets.
  • Better keyboard navigation

Meanwhile, additional HTML5 page structure elements include the following:

Originally published on CIO |  Click here to read the original story.
Join us:






Ask a Question