LinkedIn adds blocking feature

LinkedIn adds blocking, other long-awaited privacy settings

By , ITworld |  

You can block people on Facebook and Twitter, but not LinkedIn - until now.

The leading professional social media site recently announced several "Wow, they should have had these a while ago" privacy features that may come as a relief to those who simply cannot shake persistent Connection-seekers.

"While on the surface this may seem like a simple feature to develop, it was not," notes Paul Rockwell, head of Trust & Safety. "There were many different use cases to consider, products and features to integrate, as well as a user interface we had to create."

But blocking is not the only new addition to the site's privacy lineup. Other features made available:

  • Disconnecting: Remove any existing connection to another member in your network.
  • Customize Your Public Profile: Control the profile content that's discoverable by search engines.
  • Activity Broadcasts: Control whether others can see updates to your profile, recommendations made and companies followed.
  • Photo Visibility: Control who can see your profile photo.
  • Profile Viewing: Alters what others see when you visit their profile.

If you haven't visited the Privacy Settings in your profile, do so soon and ensure the defaults of these new features reflect how you want to run your account. If you want to enable some of these new features, click below to discover how.

via LinkedIn

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Answers - Powered by ITworld

ITworld Answers helps you solve problems and share expertise. Ask a question or take a crack at answering the new questions below.

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Ask a Question
randomness