Beware of self-destructing messaging in the enterprise

By Bart Perkins, Computerworld |  Networking, insider

self-destruct button

Image credit: flickr/gruntzooki

"This message will self-destruct in 10 seconds."

That variation on the old Mission: Impossible trope is now the business model for several companies. But the services they offer, while beneficial to their users, pose problems for organizations that need to retain records, monitor employee activities or keep an eye on communications -- in other words, most organizations.

Snapchat, Wickr, Burn Note and others attempt to make electronic communications as private as face-to-face discussions. Snapchat allows users to send silly or embarrassing photos that self-destruct within 10 seconds after being opened, and it notifies the sender if the receiver attempts to capture the image by screenshot. Wickr uses "military-grade" encryption to send self-destructing voice, text or audio files, and it allows senders to control who can access the message and for how long. Burn Note maintains all messages in memory with no disk backup. When opened, messages are deleted, along with all sender and receiver information. All of these services are a big advancement for individual privacy.

To continue reading, register here to become an Insider. You'll get free access to premium content from CIO, Computerworld, CSO, InfoWorld, and Network World. Go now!

Don't miss...

Greatest comebacks in tech history
Greatest comebacks in tech history
LinkedIn mistakes
12 LinkedIn mistakes IT pros make
9 technologies that came too soon
Ahead of their time: 9 technologies that came too soon

  Sign me up for ITworld's FREE daily newsletter!
Email: 
 


Originally published on Computerworld |  Click here to read the original story.
Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Answers - Powered by ITworld

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Ask a Question
randomness