Open Source

RSS
Open source news, solutions, and analysis for IT professionals
  • Review

    Dell's Linux laptop has good hardware, decent toolkit

    Posted May 6, 2013 - 11:28 am

    Our Linux pros check out the decked-out XPS 13 'Developer Edition' laptop, preloaded with Ubuntu and other tools.
  • Review

    Where's the beef? Fedora releases 'Spherical Cow'

    Posted April 8, 2013 - 11:12 am

    After being delayed seven times due to reported problems with the new installer, Fedora 18 has arrived.
  • Review

    NoSQL showdown: MongoDB vs. Couchbase

    Posted March 21, 2013 - 2:14 pm

    MongoDB edges Couchbase Server with richer querying and indexing options, as well as superior ease-of-use
  • Review

    Back up your website: 10 WordPress plugins that keep your data safe

    Posted March 14, 2013 - 7:24 am

    WordPress may be a popular CMS, but its built-in backup isn't ideal. Here are 10 plugins that can help you keep your entire site safe.
  • Review

    Review: LibreOffice 4 leaves you wanting more

    Posted February 13, 2013 - 10:13 am

    Modest rev of the open source office suite has welcome new features, but old peeves still linger
  • Review

    Samba 4 review: No substitute for Active Directory -- yet

    Posted January 23, 2013 - 11:55 am

    Samba's open source alternative to Microsoft's domain controller is a good start, but not ready for prime time
  • Review

    10 Joomla extension modules for easier and better websites

    Posted January 14, 2013 - 8:35 am

    A collection of 10 diverse Joomla extensions that can help you build and maintain your sites.
  • Review

    Linux Live USB Creator makes it easier to install Linux

    Posted January 6, 2013 - 10:09 pm

    There used to be a time when Microsoft Windows ruled the operating system world. But in recent years, the free and open source Linux operating system has taken a big bite out of Windows' dominance. But Linux has always had an image problem of seeming too difficult and unwieldy to install and learn, with a steep learning curve attached.
  • Review

    GNOME 2: Still king of the Linux desktop

    Posted December 28, 2012 - 8:53 pm

    It seems fair to say that Linux users enjoy a degree of choice that's unmatched by the proprietary players in the desktop computing world, what with the wide variety of both distributions and desktop environments from which they can choose.
  • Review

    Raspberry Pi, Cotton Candy, and MK802 II face off in this battle of pint-size PCs

    Posted December 17, 2012 - 4:43 pm

    They're incredibly small and surprisingly powerful: We tell you what these devices are capable of, and how well they perform.
  • Review

    Six free databases with commercial-quality features

    Posted December 3, 2012 - 4:44 pm

    Free or open source databases run hundreds of millions of public-facing and private applications worldwide, but how effective is this technology and how do these products compare? For answers, we reviewed six popular free or open source database products: Microsoft SQL Server Express, PostgreSQL, Oracle's MySQL, MariaDB, Apache Derby and Firebird SQL.
  • Review

    Review: 6 slick open source routers

    Posted November 14, 2012 - 3:50 pm

    DD-WRT, Tomato, OpenWRT, M0n0wall, PfSense, and Vyatta suit a wide range of devices and networking needs
  • Review

    Two new Asus laptops offer an Ubuntu Linux option

    Posted October 16, 2012 - 8:33 pm

    As the arrival of Windows 8 draws ever nearer, it's not surprising to see the debut of a flurry of devices featuring the new OS.
  • Review

    How to replace missing Start button in Windows 8

    Posted October 5, 2012 - 2:43 pm

    A Start menu substitute can greatly reduce the shock of using Windows 8. Here are three alternatives that produce a reasonable experience.
  • Review

    Joomla 3.0 review: Making way for mobile

    Posted October 4, 2012 - 7:27 am

    We take a close look at 3.0, the latest version of the open-source content-management system, which offers a new implementation that helps site developers design for the mobile platform.
  • Review

    DOSBox: Free, open-source DOS emulation

    Posted September 29, 2012 - 7:25 am

    Running games during the DOS era was trouble enough, and today exploring those old games can be a nightmare. Sound card issues, memory management and other peculiarities of early PC gaming amplified as OS technology progressed and passed these titles by, leaving many of them orphaned and unable to run on modern systems. Today's answer to this problem isn't digging up an old system or rooting around for special drivers, it's emulation: free and open-source DOSBox.
  • Review

    Review: 6 free email servers for small business

    Posted September 17, 2012 - 9:36 pm

    hMail Server (Windows only) comes in first, Citadel (Linux only) is a close second.
  • Review

    Linux Mint 13 leaves sour aftertaste

    Posted September 4, 2012 - 2:25 pm

    With Ubuntu 12.04 LTS as its underpinnings, Linux Mint 13 (Maya) was recently released in three versions, KDE (new), Xfce, and Gnome-Cinnamon. We tested each version separately and while we still like Mint, we're accumulating a nagging list of bugs -- some of which are the fault of Ubuntu, and some are the twists that Linux Mint takes on its own.
  • Review

    Bring Outlook and Google Mail contacts together with GO Contact Sync

    Posted September 1, 2012 - 7:05 am

    In the matter of contact managers, I used to like to keep business and leisure separate. I used Google Contacts to manage friends and family, while Microsoft Outlook was strictly for business. But when the walls between those two worlds began to crumble, I was left with an unruly mess...until I found GO Contact Sync. This free utility syncs contacts between Microsoft Outlook and Google Mail, and does so neatly, easily, and quickly.
  • Review

    Linux favorite email client Claws Mail works well on Windows... once email is imported

    Posted July 10, 2012 - 7:11 pm

    Claws Mail is a great basic email client on its native Linux platform, and the Windows port I looked at is done very nicely. It lacks automatic account configuration à la Outlook, but it supports multiple accounts, filters, and has a threaded view of messages. It's attractively simple, but could use a better way to import existing email and addresses.
  • Review

    Google Android Jelly Bean OS: A test drive

    Posted June 28, 2012 - 9:27 am

    After a day of Google I/O announcements, I finally got my hands on a Samsung Galaxy Nexus running the Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) operating system. I found that there are a few things that Google has done right with this update---and a few issues that still need work.
  • Review

    Ubuntu targets the mainstream

    Posted June 18, 2012 - 1:27 pm

    With Ubuntu 12.04, Canonical has delivered a much improved product that spans desktops, servers and the cloud in a bid to become the cross-platform mainstream product that Apple's Mac OS might have been had Apple not abandoned the server market.
  • Review

    Android phones: Which companies do the best job with Android updates?

    Posted June 4, 2012 - 9:36 am

    If there's one thing to hate about Android, it's the uncertainty about whether your phone will ever run the latest and greatest version of Google's mobile OS.
  • Review

    Stop spyware in its tracks with Open-Source HijackThis

    Posted May 10, 2012 - 3:05 pm

    Reviewing HijackThis is like talking to an old friend for the first time after a lengthy communications hiatus. I lost track of the program's development shortly after Trend Micro took it over. Not that I or my repair colleagues ever stopped using it--it's too darn handy when it comes to spotting malware and removing detritus from your system. Now, Trend Micro has placed the program in open source, so perhaps development will continue beyond the version 2.0.4 that it's been stuck at for a while.
  • Review

    WampServer delivers a smart, Windows-friendly platform for Apache, MySQL and PHP-based apps

    Posted April 23, 2012 - 12:36 am

    While many popular website applications (WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, etc.) are open source and therefore freely available, running these PHP-based apps on a Windows IIS web server requires a bit of retrofitting.
Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Join today!

See more content
Ask a Question
randomness