Leave Your PlayStation 3 Off or Else, Warns Sony

Sony tells PS3 owners not to use their systems, as doing so may bungle trophy synchronization or result in data loss

By Matt Peckham, PC World |  Personal Tech, playstation 3

It's probably just a 24 hour bug, but you'll want to leave your glitchy PS3s off in the meantime, just in case, says Sony.

In an update posted to the company's international Twitter feeds and official PlayStation blogs at roughly 9:15am PT, Sony wrote that it hopes to resolve an issue preventing gamers from playing games or connecting to its PlayStation Network, but advises that "you do not use your PS3 system, as doing so may result in errors in some functionality."

Those "functionality errors" could include properly recording trophies obtained by completing specific goals in games, as well as "not being able to restore certain data," though it's unclear what Sony means by the latter.

The issue, which manifested as clocks turned from February 28 to March 1, affects older "fat" PS3s only ("slims" are unaffected) and manifests as a time reset to 12/31/99 when you power the system on. Attempting to play certain games offline brings up an error message, as does signing into Sony's PlayStation Network.

Some users have also reported that they can't access streaming videos, such as those downloaded from online video rental service Netflix.

For a more detailed look at the issue, see our info-roundup: Global PlayStation 3 Glitch: What We Know So Far.

Follow us on Twitter (@game_on)


Originally published on PC World |  Click here to read the original story.
Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Answers - Powered by ITworld

ITworld Answers helps you solve problems and share expertise. Ask a question or take a crack at answering the new questions below.

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Ask a Question