What you need to know about Facebook's new privacy settings

By , CIO |  Security, Facebook, privacy

Soon, these two permissions will appear in separate windows so you can better control what you share. For example, you can grant an app the capability to read your public profile and friends list to personalize your experience, but decline to allow it to post your activity on your behalf.

[How Secure Are Your Facebook Apps?]

Facebook Removes Search Setting, Adds In-Context Notices

One privacy setting that Facebook is removing is the "Who can look up my timeline by name" setting, which has controlled whether you can be found by typing your name into the Facebook search bar.

"Because of the limited nature of the setting, we removed it for people who weren't using it," Facebook's Lessin says. This setting will be removed in the coming weeks for the "small percentage of people who still have it," he says.

Rather than remove this setting, Naked Security's Vaas says it should have been fixed. "If the original setting was limited in scope and failed to do what it purported [...] why not rework it so as to actually protect people's privacy and give them the right to not be found?" she says.

Facebook says in its place, the social network has built "new, contextual tools, along with education about how to use them."

These in-context notices will appear throughout Facebook to help you better understand certain actions you take.

This series of in-product messages will appear when you hide content from your timeline, for example, to inform you where, if at all, the information still appears.

Facebook's Updated Activity Log

Facebook's Activity Log, which was introduced last year, tracks what you've posted on Facebook, lets you change the audience of past posts and lets you choose what appears on your timeline.

Facebook is updating the Activity Log with a new navigation that lets you review your comments and likes, photos of you, and posts you've been tagged in. It will also let you sort your information so you can see public photos you're tagged in and have hidden from your timeline, but which still appear on Facebook.

Facebook's 'Request and Removal' Tool

Within Facebook's updated Activity Log is a "Request and Removal" tool that lets you take action on multiple photos you've been tagged in. For example, you can ask people who posted them to remove them.


Originally published on CIO |  Click here to read the original story.
Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Answers - Powered by ITworld

Ask a Question
randomness