How to keep your real name and face out of Google's ads

Google just updated its terms of service to allow the company to use your real name, face and comments in ads. Here's how to stop it.

By Brad Chacos, PC World |  Security, advertising, Google

The journey was long and full of baby steps, but we've finally reached the destination: Google updated its terms of service on Friday to allow the company to slap your real name and face alongside ads, under an expansion of its "shared endorsements" program.

Getting here took a while, and it took a slow expansion of the Google+ social service.

First, Google+ users had to sign up for the service with their real names, rather than pseudonyms. Next, all new Google Accounts--even if you only wanted Gmail--required you to sign up for Google+. Then, back in May, Google began coaxing veteran YouTubers into adopting Google+ accounts, and a few weeks ago, the company announced that all YouTube comments will be powered exclusively by Google+.

Google+ integration throughout Google's services seemed pretty handy at first. When searching the Play Store, the power of "shared endorsements" showed you when your friends like a given app (not unlike what iOS and OS X users see when looking for game recommendations in Apple's Game Center app). When searching the web, Google+ identified when your buddies +1'd a given site. Now, Google's bringing your real name, face, reviews, and comments to Search ads across the web.

But while Facebook forces all users to participate in "sponsored stories," Google gives you the opportunity to opt out of its ad program. Minors will be automatically excluded, but you'll have to manually tell Google to leave your name out of its ads if you're over 18. Fortunately, it's easy to do so.

How to tell Google to stop using your face and name in ads

To stop Google from using details from your Google+ profile in its advertising campaign, you'll need to head to the Shared Endorsements page on Google+.

The Shared Endorsements page spells out the details of the program. If you scroll down below all the words and pictures, you'll see a single settings option on the page: "Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads." Simply uncheck the box and click Save and you won't have to worry about your face and name appearing in Google's ads.

Opting out of the ad campaign doesn't opt you out of all Shared Endorsements, however; your persona will still appear alongside websites you +1 and apps you like while your friends are scouring the web or Google Play.

And while you're busy tweaking settings anyway, consider tweaking your privacy settings on Facebook now that anyone can find you--because you never know when someone important is looking over your digital shoulder.

Don't miss...

The best places to work in IT
The best places to work in IT

20 historic tech sounds you may have forgotten

25 crazy and scary things the TSA has found on travelers

  Sign me up for ITworld's FREE daily newsletter!
Email: 
 


Originally published on PC World |  Click here to read the original story.
Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

SecurityWhite Papers & Webcasts

See more White Papers | Webcasts

Answers - Powered by ITworld

ITworld Answers helps you solve problems and share expertise. Ask a question or take a crack at answering the new questions below.

Ask a Question
randomness