Security

RSS
Find network and information security news, reviews and analysis, covering data protection, privacy, endpoint security, and security management.
  • Review

    Smart card readers for iPhone and iPad security

    Posted July 15, 2013 - 12:06 pm

    Flexible PKard Reader and elegant Tactivo bring smart card authentication to your favorite mobile device.
  • Review

    PasswordBox - One password to rule them all?

    Posted July 2, 2013 - 8:00 am

    There has been some degree of hype recently around the start up PasswordBox. Their goal is near to my heart - create a single solution to manage all of your username and passwords online. With high hopes I jumped in line for their 1 Million account giveaway and was supplied with an account in just a few days.
  • Review

    Shootout results: Best security tools for small business

    Posted June 17, 2013 - 12:13 pm

    Check Point comes out on top; Kerio, WatchGuard, Elitecore and Sophos score high in review of unified threat management (UTM) devices.
  • Review

    Cisco impresses with first crack at next-gen firewall

    Posted June 17, 2013 - 10:53 am

    When we tested next-generation firewalls last May, at least one important security vendor wasn't there: Cisco, because they weren't ready to be tested. Now that the ASA CX next-generation firewall has had a year to mature, we put the product through its paces, using the same methodology as our last NGFW test.
  • Review

    Smartphones take center stage in two-factor authentication schemes

    Posted May 20, 2013 - 3:59 pm

    We all know that relying on a simple user ID and password combination is fraught with peril. One alternative is to use one of the single sign-on solutions we reviewed last year, but there are less expensive options that could also be easier to install.
  • Review

    Microsoft DirectAccess impresses

    Posted April 22, 2013 - 4:39 pm

    Available since Windows Server 2008 R2, Microsoft's DirectAccess server role became fully integrated with the OS in Windows Server 2012. DirectAccess is designed to connect a VPN-type session automatically as soon as a compatible Windows client is connected to the Internet.
  • Review

    Cisco edges F5 in VPN shootout

    Posted April 22, 2013 - 1:43 pm

    We tested five products that deliver remote SSL/VPN connectivity. Here's how they stack up.
  • Review

    6 software and driver update utilities compared

    Posted March 19, 2013 - 3:27 pm

    If you dismissed update utilities as something only for home users (as I did until recently), now might be the time to take a second look.
  • Review

    Fear of Facebook: 7 free apps that guard your privacy

    Posted March 18, 2013 - 6:53 am

    Facebook users are constantly being told that their privacy is under siege. Here are seven apps that can help secure your personal data.
  • Review

    PassLocker is a simple but flawed password manager for OS X

    Posted February 16, 2013 - 8:05 am

    These days, it seems that every single website I visit wants me to log in, no matter how trivial the service it offers. Of course, the most basic of cautions dictates that a different set of credentials are created for each site, least I wake up one morning to find out that my bank account was wiped clean because my favorite social network inadvertently leaked my password.
  • Review

    Tools for the paranoid: 5 free security tools to protect your data

    Posted February 4, 2013 - 5:59 pm

    Tools for protecting passwords, browsing anonymously, and encrypting our most precious documents.
  • Review

    Cryptocat review: Chat client includes encryption

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:45 am

    Chatting online is easier than ever; chatting securely, not so much. The chat clients built into Facebook and Gmail emphasize ubiquity and ease of use over encryption. Cryptocat is one chat client that says you can have both security and convenience, and made quite a splash upon arrival.
  • Review

    G Data InternetSecurity 2013 review: Excellent protection, but a terrible user interface

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:35 am

    G Data InternetSecurity 2013 ($35 for one year, as of 12/19/12) is a comprehensive security suite with an excellent protection record: It blocked, detected, and disabled all of the malicious files we threw at it, and cleaned up 80 percent of infections in our system cleanup test. However, it's not the most user-friendly suite, with a tedious installation process and an advanced-users-only settings panel. As a result, it ended up toward the bottom of our rankings.
  • Review

    McAfee Internet Security 2013 review: Proficient antimalware, super-quick installation

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:35 am

    McAfee Internet Security 2013 ($40 for one year of protection on up to 3 computers, as of 12/19/12) didn't manage top marks in our security suite tests, but it's still a fairly proficient antimalware program that will keep you relatively
  • Review

    AVG Internet Security 2013 review: Adequate antivirus program gets a makeover

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:35 am

    AVG has given its Internet Security suite a makeover for the new year. AVG Internet Security 2013 ($55 for one year, as of 12/17/12) now has a pretty, Windows 8-style tiled interface, complete with large, colorful buttons that are optimized for a touchscreen. That said, it seems as if AVG has put most of its effort into improving its program's looks, as the suite managed a respectable, but below-average, showing in our tests.
  • Review

    KeePass review: Make strong passwords and keep them safe

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:30 am

    If you adopt just one security tool this year, make it KeePass. This free and open-source password manager is available for Windows, with unofficial ports for iOS, Android, Linux, and Mac OS X. A secure, lengthy, completely random password goes a long way towards improving your security--and having a separate password for each and every website and service you use is the single most important thing you can do to keep secure.
  • Review

    Avira Internet Security 2013 review: Competent but confusing

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:25 am

    Avira Internet Security 2013 is an acceptable antivirus program--if you happen to be an expert in security jargon and working your way through a somewhat unfriendly user interface. This particular security suite passed our tests (though,
  • Review

    Bitdefender Internet Security 2013 review: Excellent protection, user-friendly interface

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:25 am

    Bitdefender Internet Security 2013 ($70 for one year and three PCs, as of 12/19/12) may just be everything that you'd want in a security suite. This program, which earned the highest rating in both our real-world attack test and our system cleanup test, has a user-friendly interface that will appeal to both regular and advanced users. It also comes with several extra services, such as antitheft protection for various mobile devices.
  • Review

    Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 review: Good protection, advanced settings (minus the jargon)

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:03 am

    Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 ($60 for one year and three PCs, as of 12/19/12) is a solid antimalware suite that provides admirable protection and an excellent settings interface. This program looks a little different from the other suites we tested, mainly because of its teal-and-white colors, in contrast to the green-is-good/red-is-bad user interface that most other security packages use. But once you get past the fact that teal is sort of the same as green (trust us, this takes a moment), it's a good program that will keep you safe from most incoming attacks.
  • Review

    F-Secure Internet Security 2013 review: First-rate protection and usability has a small performance price

    Posted February 2, 2013 - 8:03 am

    F-Secure Internet Security 2013 (about $73 for one year and one computer, as of 12/19/12) came in first in several of our malware detection, blocking, and removal tests. It successfully blocked attacks, detected and disabled infections, and proved adept at cleaning up all traces of malware, landing at the top of this year's security suite roundup.
  • Review

    Security software showdown! 9 antivirus suites empirically tested

    Posted January 28, 2013 - 12:51 pm

    If you're like a lot of people, when it comes time to renew your security software, you may ask yourself, "Do I really need to upgrade to the latest version?" The answer is yes. Keeping up-to-date is generally a good idea, as new threats surface constantly. And if you value mobile security or use a social network, this year's crop of security suites is worth paying attention to.
  • Review

    Managing data trash: 6 tools to improve privacy and free space

    Posted January 23, 2013 - 12:35 pm

    It's time to think beyond the Recycle Bin with a new echelon of waste management utilities.
  • Review

    Samba 4 review: No substitute for Active Directory -- yet

    Posted January 23, 2013 - 11:55 am

    Samba's open source alternative to Microsoft's domain controller is a good start, but not ready for prime time
  • Review

    Review: Proximo lets you use your iPhone to find your keys

    Posted January 12, 2013 - 8:30 am

    Kensington will formally unveil its new Proximo product this week at the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas, but the company shared a $60 Proximo Starter Kit with Macworld early. I've spent a few days with the device, which is meant to help you monitor the whereabouts of your iPhone 4S or iPhone 5, along with your keys and potentially other valuables.
  • Review

    1Password for iOS keeps your digital life safe

    Posted December 21, 2012 - 12:34 pm

    As a researcher once said, the ideal password is one that is hard to guess, impossible to write down, and can only be used in one place. This combination of requirements is very hard for a human to achieve, but AgileBits's 1Password 4 makes it an absolute breeze.

Join today!

See more content
Ask a Question
randomness