Turn off automatic restore in two Mac OS X Lion apps

How to turn off Lion's restore feature in Preview and QuickTime Player X

By , ITworld |  Software, Mac OS X Lion, osx lion

One of the neatest things about Mac OS X Lion is its ability to restore the windows you had opened when you ended a computing session. However, there are those who might find this feature to be intrusive and annoying in certain applications such as Preview or QuickTime Player X.

No problem, here's how you can turn it off in Preview and QuickTime Player X.

1. Open a terminal window.

2. Type in the following commands:

defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Make sure the apps are closed before you type in these commands. Switch "false" to "true if you want to turn on the restore feature for these two applications.

Four Lion Terminal hacks | Macworld

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Spotlight on ...
Online Training

    Upgrade your skills and earn higher pay

    Readers to share their best tips for maximizing training dollars and getting the most out self-directed learning. Here’s what they said.

     

    Learn more

SoftwareWhite Papers & Webcasts

Webcast On Demand

Next Generation Firewall

Sponsor: PC Connection

See more White Papers | Webcasts

Answers - Powered by ITworld

ITworld Answers helps you solve problems and share expertise. Ask a question or take a crack at answering the new questions below.

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Ask a Question