January 05, 2012, 9:45 PM — Here's how you can deactivate your Facebook account so you can restore it later if you want.
1. Login to your Facebook account.
2. Click the account menu at the top right.
3. Go to Account Settings.
4. Click Security.
5. Click on the "Deactivate Your Account" option.
6. Your profile, timeline and all your information will be removed from Facebook right away. You will not be found in searches and no one can view your information.
If you decide you want to turn it back on, just login with your email and password. Your profile, timeline, etc. will be restored.
For more, see the original article at the link below.
Facebook FAQ | Facebook