4 Google social search tips for control and privacy

Google's controversial search update brings content from Google+ to the forefront of your search results. Here's what you need to know.

By , CIO |  Software, Google, Google+

When you perform a search, you can check the visibility of a piece of content by looking at the link that appears beside each result. For photo results, just hover over the photo. Each will be marked either "Public," "Limited," or "Only you."

To change the settings of your photo albums or posts, click "Edit" on your Photos and Posts pages to update your preferences.

If, for example, you uploaded a photo album and shared it with three of your closest friends, only they can see these pictures in their own personal results page.

2. You don't have to see personal results.

If you're logged into your Google account, you'll always see personal results. There are two ways to bypass this, though. First, you can log out of your account, then perform a search. Or, you can turn off personal results altogether.

[Google+" 5 Legal Issues for Businesses]

To turn off personal results, navigate to the top-right of your search results page and click the globe icon. This will prevent you from viewing personal results. Click the person icon to enable it.

If you're not seeing personal results and you want to, check to see whether you're using SSL search--your network administrator may have blocked it. Other possible reasons: You're using Google in a language other than English, your browser is outdated or you're searching with a filtering option other than "Everything" or "Images."

3. You can manage the Google+ content that appears in search results.

If someone's content is consistently appearing in your personal results, there are a few things you can do to prevent it.

First, you can remove that person from your Circles. Do this by clicking the Circles icon in your Google+ account and finding that persons name. Then, click "Remove" at the top of the window.

You can also choose to ignore that person, which can be done from the "People who have added you" tab while editing your circles.

Lastly, you can block that individual person, which means he or she will be unable to contact you or view your Google+ profile. You can also do this from the edit screen of your Circles page.

[Google+ Tips: 4 Tools to Boost Your Social Networking Experience]

4. You don't have to appear in autocomplete lists.

By default, your Google profile will appear in Google search results. If you don't want your Google profile to appear in anyone's autocomplete list, you can choose not to have your profile indexed by search engines.


Originally published on CIO |  Click here to read the original story.
Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Ask a Question