Quitting and restarting Dropbox

'Quit Dropbox' doesn't mean what you might think

By  

This content is excerpted from "Dropbox In 30 Minutes" by Ian Lamont, part of the In 30 Minutes™ family of technology guides.

You may have noticed a menu item for the Dropbox App called "Quit Dropbox". Quitting Dropbox is not like quitting other applications.

When you "quit" Dropbox, you will still be able to access the Dropbox folders on your hard drive. This means you can open files, and save new files to the Dropbox folders. However, syncing will no longer take place -- if you create a new file and save it to a Dropbox folder on your computer's hard drive, it won't be synced to your master account on Dropbox's servers. Conversely, the Dropbox folder on your computer won't register changes made to the master account, including new files or updates made via the Dropbox app on your mobile device or shared folders.

To restart Dropbox, find the application on your computer and double-click it. You may need to log back in, using your existing Dropbox credentials (email address and password).

This question and answer are part of the Rogue FAQ for Dropbox, available in Dropbox In 30 Minutes.

Ian Lamont is an award-winning journalist who launched the In 30 Minutes™ book series after graduating from MIT Sloan. Follow him on twitter at @ilamont.

Don't miss...


25 crazy and scary things the TSA has found on travelers

Truth in IT job postings: What those want ads really mean

The 6 biggest tech companies you (probably ) never heard of

  Sign me up for ITworld's FREE daily newsletter!
Email: 
 

Join us:
Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

LinkedIn

Google+

Answers - Powered by ITworld

ITworld Answers helps you solve problems and share expertise. Ask a question or take a crack at answering the new questions below.

Ask a Question
randomness